logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
bgeraghty243  
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 2, 2016 1:50:20 AM(UTC)
bgeraghty243

United States

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Greetings,

Working as a sysadmin, I use ScreenConnect every day for a multitude of tasks, and quite successfully I might add. It's a great piece of software. I recently came up with an idea for a companion-tool to ScreenConnect that ended up being quite handy for supporting end-users in my experience, so I thought I'd upload and share it.

https://github.com/bgera...cessAsUser-ScreenConnect

Code:

Background/Goal: 
On the Host page of the web interface, input sent to the "Commands" Tab of any Windows Guest, is executed on the machine via the ScreenConnect service, which results in the command being executed as the SID "NT Authority\SYSTEM".  This is not a problem, however I wanted to also be able to send commands to the Guest and have them be executed within the interactive user session (Console Session) of the machine, as the user who is currently logged in to that session, whoever that might be at that point.  I found that from time to time, I needed to execute certain commands as the user to get the desired result, but was not able to without connecting into the session and taking physical control of the user's session / using the toolbox.

Description:
The console program I wrote to accomplish this is called "rpau.exe" (Run Process As User). It was written in PureBasic 5.41, and accomplishes this goal with very small footprint on the system (19kb).  I placed a copy of it in the C:\Windows directory (PATH) to be able to run it from the Command Tab by simply calling it by name:

C:\Windows\system32>rpau

Error: No Options / Parameters Given.

[Run Process As User] v0.32.131

Syntax1: rpau.exe --hidden "<ProgramName>" "<CmdLineArgs>" "<WorkingDirectory>"